Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 94

    Medellin, Colombia

    February 27, 2017 in Colombia ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    I spent a good chunk of time exploring Medellin and the surrounding area.

    Medellin is a large city stuck between several mountains and hiding some pretty amazing secrets within its streets. I was lucky to have two different couchsurfers (Manuel & Natalia) who made my experience special and fun!

    Medellin is home to many different parks, museums, lots of little theaters, hidden cafes and of course has Pablo Escobar tagged to its name.

    One of the great things about the city is its extensive transportation system of metro, light rail, bus, and cable car which not only allows tourists to get around easily, but also allows for small populations on the other side of the valley to access the city and its economic potentials.

    My time was spent wandering the streets, the parks, the museums and meeting people on every step of the way.

    Fun fact Botero the famous Colombiam artist known for his "gorodo" statues or fat statues has a statue In Minneapolis right next to the depot!

    I was lucky enough to take two trips out of the city to Guatape and Santa Elena and meet up with an old friend from Berlin who was here visiting her family.

    I still feel I didn't get to explore everything Medellin has to offer, but hope one day I can come back and see what other surprises Medellin has for me.
    Read more