Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 146

    Iquitos, Peru

    April 20, 2017 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    After 2 1/2 days on a boat I arrived in the jungle city of Iquitos. The worlds largest city accessible only by water or air. I was surprised by how big it was and how you really couldn't tell you were in the middle of the Amazon. With 30,000 Moto-taxis and very few cars the city is buzzing with life. I stayed with a Couchsurfer from Colombia and got to go out for exotic Amazon cocktails and go to see a Peruvian movie on the theater. Iquitos also has a wonderful barrio called Belen known for its market and the fat that half of the year it's partially underwater making it only accessible by boat and small wooden walkways. The Venice of the Amazon. I enjoyed walking around the streets, the parks and getting my beard trimmed for the price of one song on Harmonica.Read more