Satellite
Show on map
  • First week of Tafe, casual & placement.

    February 9, 2019 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Big week this week!
    Literally spent the first month of 2019 wasting my life. I spent a lot of time sleeping when I shouldn’t and not sleeping when it was bed time.
    Apparently I need a routine to function.
    I wrote out of list I did throughout the month though which made me feel a little better. I did see some friends and set stuff up.
    I joined ANZUK and got my placement for tafe organised.

    Tafe:
    My first day of tafe was Feb 4th.
    There were 2 options for teachers.

    Lady 1.
    She has a masters in zoology and a science degree - works as a vet nurse and 20+ years experience.
    Lady 2.
    Is a dog groomer in her 20’s.

    ...... some people are getting ripped off.

    I got lady 1 who is the head teacher and even though she is a little cranky I’m happy.
    There is a girl with turrets in the class and thankfully she is in the other group cause i would have been so distracted. She kept dancing and saying ice cream over and over.

    The day was basically an orientation day where they went over parts of the course and showed us how to sign in and use the computers.
    FOUND OUT THERE IS AN EXCURSION TO TARONGA ZOO AND IM SO HAPPY.

    Nothing overly exciting happened - I did get my tafe card and the photo is awful!!
    We did a practice assignment which was basically learning how to upload a document.

    Will was working nearby so he picked me up. Wins.

    Casual childcare work:
    Apparently January is always slow so I didn’t get my first call into work until 5/2. I got called to “Colour my World” in Ermington which is only like 3km from his house. My shift was 8:30-4:30 so I could have another hour sleep before getting up.
    The centre was ok. The chef made me feel extremely welcome. I worked in the preschool room and met some cool kids.
    Supervision and ration wasn’t a major priority at this centre.
    It was nice enough but I was a little bored tbh. I think cause I didn’t know the routine so I couldn’t gage how long we had to go before the transition to the next thing.
    I liked their uniforms though - they had their name tags stitched in which was so helpful for me.

    They loved me hehe. I got put on their priority list. Yay me. So I got a call from anzuk before my shift even finished saying they wanted me back the next day. Chuffed with myself.
    I worked in the preschool room again and did a good job I rkn. I knew all the kids names and ran group times etc.
    I then worked on the Friday at “colour my world” again but at their West Ryde centre. I didn’t like it. Moreover, I didn’t like the staff. I started at 12:30 though so that was ideal hahaha.

    They had peppermint tea from T2 so I stole some hehe.
    It was delicious. Can’t wait to use my teapot.

    Work placement.
    Today, (8/2) I went to Pet Resorts Australia in Dural for my first day of prac. We have to go every week for the duration of my tafe course (18 weeks).
    My main jobs today were cleaning the kennels, hosing the yards, rotating dogs to where they need to go ie the groomers, new kennel or yard etc.
    I also weighed dogs and washed/dried 5 dogs. I also hand washed and cleaned up a gazillion dirty bowls which took foreverrrr.

    Dumb moment of the day was when I was using the blow dryer on a dog - it came out the plug so I went over to plug it back in - I never pressed the off button so when I replugged it came roaring back to life. Right next to the blow dryer was a massive barrel/bin of old hair which of course the dryer was facing and POOF - hair everywhere hahaha I had to rewash the dog.
    Over all it was a good day. :)
    I got an early mark too. I worked from 8-3 instead of 8-4.
    I was pleased by this. My legs were sore and feet drenched from bathing the dogs.
    Read more