Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 263

    2020 - What a Year!

    December 31, 2020 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Some people will look back at 2020 as a disaster, and totally understandable. But 2020 for me was a an awesome year. First off, I had COVID 19 back in 2019, so was basically free and clear (despite the media hype, I was exposed to COVID a couple times in 2020 and never was affected, so believe my T cells were doing their job). When 2020 started, I was (what turned out to be the middle) on a world hashing tour. I had departed Hawaii in Oct 2019, and headed west with the goal of hashing my way to Trinidad by April 2020. Well, 6 months and 21 countries later, I was in Bahrain when all travel plans got squashed. I ended up staying there for a month, but when my visa extension ran out, I had to head back to the USA. Ended up with a 32 hour flight itinerary that took me from Bahrain to Paris to Los Angeles, and the final leg into Honolulu . . . all in one day (13 April). After 2 weeks of quarantine, and then 5 months of soaking up the sun, I decided to get back on the road again. Booked a flight to the east coast to visit family in NY, then headed south. Hashed in NY, NJ, MD, VA, DC, and then flew down to Florida. Have been enjoying the Florida sunshine for the past couple month, and making plans to fly down to Barbados in January, then Ecuador in February . . . where to after that will depend on how things open up as this vaccine proliferates. Would love to spend a couple months traveling around South America, then get back over to Europe and Africa this summer. Anyway, 2020 was a great year of hashing, having done 119 trails (hared 31 times), in 16 countries, with 43 different hash clubs. Looking forward to more adventures in 2021. On OnRead more