Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 216

    Layover in Istanbul

    August 4, 2021 in Turkey ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    Everything was going smoothly this morning. Up early, and packed, easy. Rental car return, easy. Proceed to covid test, easy. Then the 90 minute processing I paid extra for, nothing. Went back to the test site, they said 10 min, nothing. Finally, 15 minutes later than paid for, test comes back negative. Was already checked in, so just need to show my test results. Good . . . But, where is your vaccine card, here, they ponder on it for 15 minutes, all while the plane is loading. After several phone calls, they finally approve, and give me boarding passes. Now to fight through security, had to crowd my way to the front of the line, done. But then, the person in front of me was having her bags inspected, waiting, waiting. Then head to gate, but had to go through customs/immigration. Long line again, had to bust my way to the front again, done. Finally finally finally, I make it on board. Since then, smooth sailing. Now the 10 hours layover here in Istanbul, before final leg into Baku in the morning. Adventures in travel, in the covid era. 😄😄Read more