Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 154

    Baggage

    June 3, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ☁️ 32 °C

    The Fallout from COVID . . . Luggage, or rather . . . Baggage from 2019, back in hand in 2022

    When I started my current round the world hash travel journey on 10 Oct 2019, I really had no idea how long it would last or where it would take me. My first stop upon leaving Hawaii was to All Japan Nash Hash 2019 at Yamanakako. Being Japan in Oct, I was prepared for cold weather and brought along a suitcase of cold weather attire. Turns out it was a lovely weekend . . . well, once Typhoon Hagibis passed through on Friday and Saturday (see attached photos). Overall, none of the cold weather attire was actually required. My next stop was Bangkok, and I had planned on traveling through all warm weather locations from that point, so did not need it after that. A friend in Bangkok had an empty corner and offered to store the suitcase for me for a few months while I traveled.

    Well, we all know what happened in the first few months of 2020 . . . I had gotten as far as Bahrain when the wheels on my cart went fully flat. Initially planning for 4-5 days in Bahrain, I ended up spending a month. I would have stayed longer if they would have renewed my visa, but when they didn’t, I found the first flight out. Fast forward 2.5 years, we have all gone through many months of lock down and limited travel (well, most of you did, I was all over the place, visiting and hashing in 55 countries since departing Thailand in Dec 2019).

    I arrived in Bangkok on Wednesday (after not being able to enter Thailand since), and today was able to get back into the suitcase I left behind 30 months ago. I anticipated it might be a little like Christmas . . . but no, just a bunch of hash crap and misc clothes. About 25% has gone into the trash, sending a friend a few items, and the rest will stay put until some future date when I may finally settle down . . . could be here in Bangkok for all I know . . . but I am surprisingly still having a blast traveling, with no planned end date.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RgKAFK5djSk
    Read more