Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 267

    Yerevan H3 #11

    September 24, 2022 in Armenia ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    It’s a small Hash World . . .

    I have been wanting to visit Armenia for a while now, and since they were having a trail the week after the Tbilisi H3 500th weekend, it worked out perfectly that I could visit both. It was an easy 5 hour ride down from Georgia on Wednesday, and I spent the past couple days wandering around the capital city of Yerevan seeing the sights. Saturday finally rolled around, and I made the 3 km walk up the hill to the start. I had been texting the current GM/RA Ginger Balls Cupped for the past month or two coordinating, and he met me at the start shortly after arrival. He is here from Nebraska, and after asking about his work, I mention that I am a vagabond, but did most of my hashing while in the US out in Hawaii.

    He mentions he had been in Hawaii a couple years ago, before the pandemic, and had run with one of the hash clubs. So I asked him when that was, and he said January 2019. I was still there at the time, and wondered if I had hared that trail, so asked what hash/day of the week specifically. After looking at a couple trails, he confirms he hashed with the Aloha H3 on 12 January 2019, and that SeamanatorTM had taken him back to his hotel. I had indeed hared that trail, so I asked him a few questions about it to confirm that was the right one. He was actually at my 3000th hash trail celebration party . . . Drag Queen had helped me hare from Jack Ass Ginger up over the Nu’uanu Trail to the Tantalus Lookout, with the party in Puʻu ʻUalakaʻa State Wayside Park. It’s a small world that one time we unknowingly hashed together over 3 years ago, we now find ourselves on the other side of the planet in Yerevan.

    Anyway, back to today trail . . . the Yerevan H3 had been a bustling club prior to the pandemic, but after things started open up again . . . and a local war like conflict . . . activities of foreigners around the city were being scrutinized, and he hash had actually been hassled enough about spreading flour and chalk marks around, that they went into hibernation for a while. As you can see, this was only hash trail #11 since the rebirth, and they are still avoiding conflict with the local constabulary. There was only 4 of us on trail, 3 runners (6 Km trail, and 1 walker on a shorter trail). It was a fun trail around an adjacent hilltop park on the outskirts of the city, and we had a short but entertaining circle. After emptying the cooler, we adjourned to a local restaurant for dinner of some delicious Armenian BBQ, and FUN WAS HAD BY ALL.

    https://www.relive.cc/view/vXOdeDwNw46
    Read more