Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23 - Boadilla to Carrión - 26km

    September 21, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    After a big hug from Eduardo in the morning, I was off into the wind and the rain. The forecast was for rain all morning, so there was no avoiding it or waiting it out.

    I realized once I was on the trail, that I hadn’t fixed the hood on the rain jacket yet because a couple weeks back, the string fell out. I had been carrying it all along, but kept forgetting to fix it. Well today I paid for it. The wind was so strong that I had to hold the hood down for quite a bit. At one point, I found the exact right head position that worked for keeping the hood on without having to hold it.

    The first stop was in 5.6 km so I pulled out the string and fixed it then. The rain had slowed again by that point, so I got excited, but it picked up again and boy was I glad I could tie the hood closed.

    In another 4km, I took a break at another bar, and had a hot chocolate and small piece of cake. I wasn’t really hungry, but it is the least I could do to get out of the rain and use the washroom. It was funny at this bar, there were only a few pilgrims, but I got the sense that the staff didn’t really want us. When I got up to leave, I was putting on my poncho, and neither of them, even though standing close by, helped me. It is always a challenge to put it over the backpack, but I usually manage (and I did this time as well). But usually, when someone is standing nearby, they help.

    At another 3.5km there was a sign for another bar, I thought, yes, I should take the break. I had a reservation for tonight so there was no rush to arrive. This was a whole different experience. The woman behind the bar was very friendly and wouldn’t stop talking. An American couple came in just after me, and the woman spoke Spanish, so she would translate when needed. It was a pleasant experience so I stayed longer than expected. The good thing is, by the time I was leaving, it was noon and the sun had come out. Just another 13km to go.

    I usually have a policy that I take off my boots and socks when I take a break, but because each of these times was inside at a bar, I didn’t want to do that (I think it is a little inappropriate). When I got to the next town, which was at the 20km mark, I was able to finally take off my boots and socks, and my feet were soaking wet. They were all wrinkly and the one blister I have on my baby toe was worse. I kept my feet in the sun for about 20 minutes and then put dry socks on (even though the boots were still a little wet.).

    Now it was time to walk the final 6km. I was ready, dry feet, music on the headset, the sun was shining and the views were wonderful, but that wind, it was relentless. I was walking head first into the wind. I had been walking without my hiking sticks, but thought I would pull them out to see if it gave me any extra power to get there. Not sure it helped, but I made it finally.

    I have been keeping in touch with Barb (from Australia) on WhatsApp and we met up with Toni (from Toronto) for dinner. I had a delicious burger and fries.

    I am staying in a private room, and it is wonderful (in hostel standards).It actually has a bath tub. I went into town and bought some Epson salts and just finished my bath. Now it is time to relax and get organized for tomorrow.

    Tomorrow is the special day on the camino where there is a 17km with no towns, only a food truck in the middle, so you have to go at least 17km no matter what. I am thinking that I will only do the 17km to give my body a rest as I have almost done 60km in 2 days. I won’t make a reservation, so if there is no bed, I will continue on to the next town which is at the 23km mark. Be sure to stay tuned to tomorrow’s blog. It was in this 17km stretch that I had a huge personal moment in 2009 and I will share my journal entry with you.

    TTYL

    Throwback to 2009 - Julie’s Journal

    I eventually caught up to Lena just before Boadilla. We stopped at the albergue there for a coke and I met a man working there that used to live in London. He asked me to take a post card home for him so I said I will. I would have loved to stay here at this hostel but Joerg was waiting in Fromista for me. And when I finally arrived … he was a sight for sore eyes! I really missed him.

    He greeted me again with chocolate just like yesterday. He then directed us to the albergue and then asked if he could carry my bag to the room. When I said he could, he said “you are too good to me”. He says that because that is what I often say to him. We went out for a coffee (and hot chocolate) then went for a nap. We are in different rooms tonight.

    It is now time for bed, he has gone and left me with a nice kiss goodnight. Life could not be any better than it is right now. I often think throughout the day “why am I so lucky?” I am so blessed!!! It is time to sleep and to dream.
    Read more