Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Hoover Dam

    June 18, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 37 °C

    Wow!! Amazing feat of engineering! Lovin' the art deco!! Crazy how low the reservoir is...kinda scary! Enjoyed the air conditioned tour 500' below the surface. Pushing 90 degrees by 9:30am - not used to this! Chugging water and hounding the kids to do the same. Ranger warned us that kids dehydrate much quicker than adults. Bought a variety of True Lemon flavor sticks to make water more inviting - no sugar or dyes! Mom win!!

    My scavenger hunt (152 items that I put together before we left) has gone better than I hoped! The boys dove right in and have a nice little competition going. Double mom win!! :-)

    RV is good. Newer model. They've tucked storage everywhere they can - adequate for our stuff, but I've had to be clever stowing stuff. Tom has driven the whole time so far. I unpacked on our way to Lake Mead last night. On our way to Kingman now for lunch, then I'll have my first stint.
    Read more