Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Independence Hall

    April 27, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    In Philadelphia looking at the beginning of the USA from all the way back in the 1730's! I can probably see things from my house that are older, but not the point I guess.

    It was cool to see and learn about the declaration of independence and the beloved constitution. However, if I can be serious for a moment (which I can do in short bursts),..

    It was interesting to see how proud Americans were of it, the guide would start a line from it and everybody else would finish it. In principle, what they were creating was great, a free country, run by the people where everyone was equal. "We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness". The guide pointed out that this of course didn't include women. For me it also didn't include Native Americans or Black people. Things have changed since...

    But I also thought that there would have been people in that room, quoting that line, who would have voted for Donald Trump. So they can talk about treating everyone the same while wanting to kick out Mexicans and Muslims. Difference between knowing something and following it I guess.

    Rant over, Philadelphia also a little scary in places! Katie got her Philly Cheese Steak though. I'll pass.
    Read more