Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Kata Tjuta - Valley of the winds

    February 5 in Australia ⋅ 🌬 21 °C

    Woke up super early and managed to get to the trail at around 7am, the valley of the winds is supposed to be a 3-4 hour hike and needed to be done before 11am as it was going to be closed due to the heat.

    The walk was really good, views were amazing, actually doing the hike at this time of day made the views better I think, despite me not really being a morning person.

    Saw my first snake! So that was cool, it looked at me and then slithered off. It probably could have killed me. What was more worrying, was that it slithered into some grass and then totally disappeared. I knew it was there, but couldn't see it... how many more are there...

    There were also flocks of green budgies flying around in murmurations which I could have watched for ages.

    After finishing the hike early, I also did the Walpa Gorge walk which was really pretty. There were lots of tadpoles in the small amount of water that was available at the end of the gorge.
    Read more