Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 16

    Moshi to Karatu: 2 x 1/2 is less than 1

    20 de agosto de 2022, Tanzania ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    We travel to Karatu to be able to visit Ngorogoro crater the next day. Travel as always requires planning and negotiation. I asked for a price, so I got a quote $300, as I expected,but I said that I couldn't afford that, we would take the bus for around $60-80. So then I get an offer, we take you half way for $65, then you take the bus, and that saves you at least 2 hours. Ok, it's a deal. In the car, the guy makes a call. My friend in Arusha can do the 2nd part for $65 . I plead poverty again, we will take the bus. Price drops to $50. I don't immediately agree, and so the price goes down to $45, Ok deal. So with splitting and haggling, the price is 1/3 of the original, and only marginally more than the bus, whilst being 3h quicker.

    We arrive in Karatu. Hotel a bit underwhelming, but Ok. They know location, location, location, and hence charge 3x more than in Moshi for a similar room.

    We rest in the afternoon, as tomorrow is a 6am start.
    Leer más