Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 57

    East Side Gallery (I)

    October 22, 2017 in Germany ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Given we had seen everything on the sightseeing schedule and it was only just after lunch, we decided to walk to the East Side Gallery, a 1.3km section of the Berlin Wall which was established as an international memorial for freedom with over 100 artists across the world invited to contribute art in 1990. It was a 5km walk from our apartment. I am not sure if it was some sort of psychological effect, or whether it was true, but there was a marked difference between the main city (and Westside) areas we had been in on the morning, and the Eastside offerings. For starters, a LOT more graffiti, a lot of building in disrepair or derelict, and then some real anarchist type dwellings with humpy-type villages set up along the river.

    I could see how film scouts could be forgiven for thinking this part of Berlin was a perfect place to shoot The Walking Dead at times.

    Then suddenly we were at the East Side Gallery and there were tonnes of people. The graffiti art on the walls was interesting, and colourful, or bleak, depending on the artist. I suspect the husband will disagree with me on this one, but there was a lot of “graffiti vandalism” on the artwork which in some cases detracted, and in some instances added to the art work. I like things in neat little boxes (so cut out for my current profession!) so I was finding myself miffed by the “vandals”. That said, the graffiti on the buildings and infrastructure actually seemed to make the place a bit edgy and quite cool. I guess I can’t have it both ways ;-)
    Read more