Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Villafranca Montes de Oca

    August 31, 2016 in Spain ⋅ 🌬 22 °C

    Hotel San Antón Abad
    After walking around 18 miles for each of the last two days I was going to take it easy and just walk about 9 miles. However, when I arrived in Belorado, where I had planned to stay it was only about 11:00, despite my starting later in the morning than usual. The albergue wasn't going to open until 12:30, so I decided to walk on, after making a reservation at this place which has a hotel, and an albergue. Hotel San Antón Abad is former hospital for pilgrims built in 1377.

    When I arrived I asked how much a hotel room was, and when I learned it was only 50€ I decided it was a good time to splurge. It's sooo nice to have a bathroom all to myself, especially after last night when there was one bathroom for twelve people.

    Tomorrow I will definitely do a shorter walk, and since I don't have to check out until noon I'll be able to sleep in (hopefully).

    Today I walked half the time alone, then for a short stretch with a German guy who was at my albergue last night. Then for a about an hour and a half with two Korean girls, until we reached the village where they were staying. For the last stretch I walk with a Spanish father and son, which gave me a good opportunity to practice my Spanish.
    Read more