Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    St-Jean-de-Luz to Hondarribia

    May 20, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    While I was still walking next to the ocean today it wasn't on the pedestrian seaside walkways of yesterday. Most of the walk was along a fairly busy road, but the ocean views were still good.

    When I got to Hendaye I had to wait about 45 minutes for the ferry crossing to Hondarribia where I had reserved a hotel room. I had heard that this was a more interesting city than next door Irun where most pilgrims start the Camino del Norte. I was very pleased with my choice. Hondarribia (founded in 1203) is an old walled city with a maze of narrow streets, and I kept getting completely turned around while looking for a place to eat. I finally settled on a cozy bar and some pintxos (tapas) for dinner. Then a quick trip to a grocery store for supplies for tomorrow's walk.Read more