Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Liencres to Santillana del Mar

    June 4, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Today was about the same distance as yesterday - approximately 27.5 km, but the there was more road walking which I can walk faster on than a stony trail and fewer photo opportunities, though there were some really pretty spots in the coast before I turned inland.

    Since my sojourn on the coast took me out of sync with some other pilgrims that I've met I'm happy to be staying at a large albergue with a communal dinner tonight. I have seen a few others that I've met before who had a rest day in Santander or split up the approx 36 km stage in two days.

    Santillana del Mar is a medieval walled city, and a tourist destination full of many souvenir shops and tourists, especially since it's a Sunday. Many of the shops have locally made products and not too much foreign made junk. The albergue where I'm staying is a former convent.
    Read more