Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Cat and Mouse Game

    October 12, 2016 in Montenegro ⋅ 🌙 9 °C

    Deutsche Version auf: www.cyclingfornepal.com

    My anticipation was great. Finally I went to a country which I had not visited yet... Montenegro. After I had passed the border without problems, the road led directly to the city Herceg-Novi at the sea. Instead of talking the busy coastal road, I cycled up a lonely mountain road, whereupon a descent to the sea followed. The detour was really worth it. A great view and a fun descent. After coming down, I was completely exhausted. Luckily there was a campsite where I pitched my tent.

    After a two day break I took a ferry to the other side of the river. I came into conversation with a travel group from Scotland and made advertising for the donation project.

    Then I went some kilometers along the coast, past hotels and tourist places. In the afternoon I made a swivel in the direction of Lake Jezero. But I should not be able to see them until the next day, because there were almost 800 m of climbing before me. Just in time for the dusk, I arrived at the pass and found a plateau 100 meters further, which was perfect to spend the night. The place was very special. I had a great 360 degree view of the mountains and the sea.

    In the meantime, it is getting dark very early. But I am usually so K.O., which I immediately fall asleep as soon as I lie down. After the meal I shoot a few photos and then go to sleep. So also this evening. After a short time, however, I heard sounds as if something were sneaking around my tent. I figured it was a Capricorn, and I was talking wildly to scare the animal. But the sounds did not stop. Armed with my torch, I crawled out of the tent and peered a fox. But he did not let himself be distracted by my lighthouse and looked at me in amazement. To scare him, I threw a stone next to him (not at him). A little later, however, he reappeared. The cat and mouse game had begun. But unfortunately I was in the case the cat. I threw at least 5-6 stones, but the fox always appeared again. Then he even tried to steal my sweaty bikeshorts. At the last moment I threw a stone and he let off the pant. Tormented, I grabbed all my stuff into the tent and went to sleep, with the hope that the next day air will be still in the tires.

    Fortunately, my bike remained undisturbed, so I started the next morning towards Jezero Lake. From there, a hilly road led along the lake to Albania. The lake with its many small islands is definitely a must-see, if one travels to Montenegro.

    In the late afternoon, I crossed the border to Albania and noticed after crossing, that some things are quite different here. But more to that in the next entry.

    Ride on.

    Janosch
    Read more