Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Beijing

    October 18, 2015 in China ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    The flight went smoothly , right up until the last 90 mins , we had TERRIBLE turbulence.
    We were scattered all around the plane , so i was sitting on my own.
    I didn't mind , as there was a lot of entertainment and had my laptop to hand.

    The size of Beijing International Airport is just unbelievable from the point of landing to getting to the stand for us to depart the aircraft, took 45 minutes alone.
    It has to be the biggest airport or up there by far.

    I was slightly worried when waiting for my bag at reclaims, as i had trouble when i fly out of T5 with British Airways to Berlin , they had left myself and Aimee's bags behind at LHR! , in the back of my mind i was hoping i wouldn't experience this again or hopefully ever, especially on this kind of trip when you are so reliant on your kit and gear.
    But all my birthdays and christmas's came at once and i saw my bag casually come round the corner on the baggage reclaim and i jumped for joy! .
    So panic over.

    2 hour transfer to our first nights stay - which is called " Impression Inn" in the northern out skirts of Beijing.
    A family run business with good food and standard accommodation.
    We have been informed by Penny , our Tour Leader and Chris - Our Chinese Hiking Expert that this is the "Best" accommodation by far......
    Worried Laughs were performed and heard by everyone.

    Food and drink and lots of mingling to be done tonight.
    photos to follow.
    Read more