Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Day 2

    April 22, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 68 °F

    The first day in a new place for me (Eileen) is always overwhelming. I am tired, don't have my bearings, and am a little anxious. Today we went straight from the airport to meeting up with Elena, a German exchange student we had 12 years ago, (and her mom and her aunt). What a blessing! She had the entire day planned - a train ride to Sintra, a neighboring town with castles, walking along the river area of Lisbon, and food plans. It made my day so much better because I could just walk and take in the culture and since I was so tired, I don't have to make decisions!! Things noticed about Lisbon: white or pink buildings with terracotta roofs; lots of tile, mostly blue; cobblestone roads and sidewalks, some with an intricate mosaic; narrow, hilly roads with restaurants, stores, and hostels; and laundry from balconies!

    Things I am thankful for: meeting old friends, an Uber driver who went out of his way to find us at the airport, people from other countries who speak English!!
    Read more