Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    My thoughts on today (Eileen)

    April 24, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    I will admit that I am always nervous traveling to other countries, but today was reinforced for me how easy it is for Americans to travel abroad, at least to the big cities. Our guided walk today had people from at least 8 different countries. Our tour guide spoke English and everyone understood him. We met two ladies at breakfast at our hostel, one originally from Georgia, the other originally from Senegal, and had a conversation with them. Their English wasn't perfect, but we had conversations. I was humbled thinking about how good I have it. Most of the people we have met know at least 2 languages and some know 3 or 4. I am spoiled!

    Today we got to celebrate the 25 da April with the local Portuguese people with festivals and music. It is their freedom day, the day they became a republic with individual freedoms. They have only had these rights for 49 years. The older generation remembers not having those freedoms and so they are passionate about it. Sometimes I forget how fortunate we are. Fireworks are unifying. The people here oohed and awwwed just like us!
    Read more