Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Giza Pyramids & Sphinx

    June 13, 2015 in Egypt ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Where do I even start? Today exceeded every expectation I had! It would hands down be the best day I have had on this holiday. We went to see the Pyramids and Sphinx in Giza, we went on the 'panoramic camel tour' so that we could see all three pyramids! My camel's name was Daisy and to start off we were linked together, by the end I was in control of her - I knew how to make her turn left and right, stop, walk and the best command of all was run. The pyramids
    were huge, we got to go inside of the smallest one where we had to crouch over and walk up about 45m to get inside. I just can't get over the fact that the Khufu Pyramid was opened in 2560BC and it took 100,000 men 30 years to build. It is the largest and oldest pyramid in the world, the base is 230m wide.

    After the pyramids we went to see the Sphinx it was crazy to see, it kinda didn't feel like I was actually there. It was huge, a lot bigger than I expected. It blows my mind to think how many men and how many years went in to building the Sphinx and Pyramids.
    Read more