Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Nairobi Airport

    June 10, 2017 in Kenya ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    Another five hours spent in a plane that I will never get back! I have to admit the flight did go rather quick but our arrival definitely was not ideal - we all got jammed into a bus (like sardines) and driven to a really large shed where we walked in and I kid you not it was a sauna!

    This shed was where we would go through customs and then collect our bags, there was two lines, one for those who organised a visa prior to arrival and one for those who need to apply and pay for their visa. I jumped in the longer line of the two (pre-purchased visas) as I already had my visa but some woman moved me to the other line, it was shorter but all the people in front needed to apply for visas and no one seemed to be in a hurry. I think it was almost two hours later when I finally got through to collect my bag and then find my transfer that was organised by 'on the go tours' by this point I am tired, smelly and grumpy.

    There was about 6 others who also arrived around the same time, we all met up and walked back to the transfer bus. the bus started driving towards the accommodation and throughout the drive I think I saw my life flash before my eyes about six times - it was that crazy, it was almost as if they didn't have any road laws!
    Read more