Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Delta Okavango

    July 20, 2017 in Botswana ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Today we head to the Delta Okavango we started at camp where we were piled onto the back of a large truck which wasn't enclosed. It was freezing and I had two jumpers and a jacket on, I was about to jump onto the truck when Duncan called me over and said I could sit up front in the enclosed cabin! It wasn't long before I was taking all my layers off because I was too hot.

    We drove for about an hour and a half before we got to the river bank where we loaded our day packs and over night bags into a mokoro which is similar to a canoe. In my mokoro there was myself, Jen and our guide Craig. I get quite nervous when it comes to water and I don't have the best balance so this was actually scary for me. Once we got going I started to relax and enjoy the ride.

    We were in the mokoros for about an hour, travelling through the reeds and paths made by other animals such as elephants and hippopotamus' before we arrived at our camp. We were lucky enough to see an elephant on the bank, they were only about twenty metres away from us.

    Later that afternoon we got back on to the mokoros and we were taken to another river bank where we got off to go for a guided walk of the Delta Okavango. After we had completed the walking tour we got back onto the mokoros, at this time the sun was setting and the colours of the sky were amazing.

    That night we sat around the fire while we watched the locals dance and sing around the fire, after they included us in a few games. I was getting eaten alive by mosquitoes so I retired early to the tent, I don't think the others lasted much longer after me. It was a great night, there was a lot of laughing and smiling from everyone.
    Read more