Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Foie gras

    December 28, 2022 in France ⋅ ☁️ 8 °C

    We flew in business class (Delta points cashed in wooo) on Air France from New York to Paris overnight. I love business class. You can lie down. There are frequent glasses of decent French wines handed to you. And the entree includes foie gras.

    I don’t want to get into how foie gras is made. That’s extremely cruel and you can read about how terrible it is on PETA’s website. But the culinary art of stuffing ducks and geese with food to enlarge their liver and eat that as a delicacy is actually thousands of years old. As early as 2500 BC, the ancient Egyptians learned that many birds could be fattened through forced overfeeding and began this practice.

    Anyways I digress. I happily ate the foie gras and sipped my Champagne and managed to get an hour of real sleep.

    That flight ended many hours ago but I am still experiencing the foie gras. It is sitting in my stomach like a rock. Like a little passenger who is there reminding me of how stupid I was to eat it.

    Now we are preparing to take off to Delhi, and I am worried about what curry and foie gras might be like together in my stomach and how that is going to feel in 12 hours.

    They have it on the menu on this flight but I am going to pass this time. Lesson learned.
    Read more