Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    First day of riding

    August 16, 2019 in the Netherlands ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Left Haarlem this morning, bike loaded up with everything I brought with me. I tried to keep load light in this trip-- no need for camping gear when you're sleeping indoors-- but it still filled every bit of room I had.

    The ride was only 12 miles-- though 20 km sounds more impressive-- and weather was fine, but it was harder than expected. Part of it was being on a bike for the first time in a while. Part of it was the mental overhead of staying on course, a non-trivial issue, even with nav tech. A lot of was the jet lag and lack of sleep I'd been getting. This will have to improve if I'm gonna do a fraction of the ride I have in mind,

    I got into Amsterdam, found my AirBNB in Rembrandt Park-- and then bailed after a couple hours! It was a dingy room in a small apartment, the lady who rented it had two small children, and one of them was shouting constantly! It took some nerve to say "Sorry, this isn't working" and leave, but I chose me-- and I'm glad for it! I did agree to pay her for one night, since I kept her waiting earlier, and did use their internet for 2 hours.

    I ended up at The Student Hotel, a *much* better situation for not much more money. Nice people, hip vibe, good food, and right next door to a metro station.
    Read more