Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Skye to North Uist, and back

    April 14, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 8 °C

    What a great day! Woke up at 7:45 with only a vague idea of catching busses round the island. The 8:30 to Uig is the first to go so I hope on it. The driver asks me if I'm going to catch the ferry. A lightbulb goes ping 💡. A quick check shows there is a 9:30 ferry to Lochmaddy on North Uist. The only catch is it is also the last ferry back to Uig so I'll only have 5 minutes on North Uist.
    The weather is wonderful, no wind, sun shining. On the way across I see a school of porpoises!
    Once back in Uig there is a bus in 15 minutes to continue my loop round the top of the island, on single track roads! Arrive back in Portree and there is a coach to Kyleakin sitting in the bus station, so I get my bag from the hostel and I'm off.
    Arrive at Saucy Mary's at 5 to find I have a dorm room all to myself. An evening stroll round this lovely fishing village and it's time for a pub meal of steak pie followed by sticky toffee pudding.
    Read more