Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Islands, Ferries, and Buses.

    April 20, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ☀️ 9 °C

    So I start my plan, to Yell and back, by catching the 7:50 bus from outside the hostel to the ferry port to Yell. I expect to have to wait an hour for the ferry, but instead there's one pulling in. Only a 10 minute crossing. As I'm getting off a crew member says That's your minibus driver there.
    Wasn't expecting that. Hop in and he drives me all the way across Yell to the ferry port for Unst where there is a ferry already waiting. He says he'll be waiting for me off the 4:45 ferry.
    When the ferry docks there's another minibus waiting to drive to the northernmost part of the island. It's now 12. He says he'll be back at 4 to pick us up. How well organised is that.
    Walk on from the bus stop to Norwick Bay. A beautiful beach with a fantastic graveyard over looking the sea. May ask my kids to scatter my ashes here so they can join the Viking winds to Valhalla.
    Read more