Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Day 12: To Grañón

    May 23, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 64 °F

    The vineyards have turned to grain. It was a beautiful hike today through multiple shades of green. Long trails into the horizon were dotted with pilgrims making their way to their next stop. I (only) did about 16 miles or 25 kilometers today but by 2:30 this afternoon my feet were done so I enjoyed a nice sandwich and vino tinto and called it a day. Later in the day I went to a Pilgrims blessing at the church. (I didn’t understand a word, but it was still impressive.) Speaking of language barriers, afterwards I enjoyed a nice pilgrims meal at the albergue. There were four French, two Polish, two Austrian’s, one Spaniard and me. Only one Austrian and one of the French women spoke some English and were able to translate enough for me to understand the various conversations. One of the most wonderful aspects of the Camino are all the wonderful people you meet from all around the world and at you truly do all have the same goal. And, although many speak English, I do wish I spoke another language or two.Read more