Satelliitti
Näytä kartalla
  • Päivä 36

    Day 36: To O Pedrouzo

    16. kesäkuuta 2023, Espanja ⋅ ☁️ 81 °F

    As I’ve gotten closer to Santiago the trails have been busier and there have been more crafts people and vendors along the trails with a sellos (stamp for your pilgrim’s passport) marketing their wares. It’s not at all like you are walking through a crafts fair, but you will usually pass something to capture your attention every hour or two.
    I ended up running into my friend Tracy this morning and we walked together the entire day. Tracy is a pocket-sized force of nature that walks substantially faster than my normal pace, but the great conversation and the excitement that tonight was my last stop before Santiago took my mind off our faster speed, and it was great getting into my destination for the day much earlier than I would have at my normal turtle 🐢… pace. It was almost a 24k day, but it went by really fast. More Hórreos (interesting, elevated grain storage buildings that are unique to Galicia) on the trail today as well as more beautiful fields and tiny villages along with one fairly good-sized town (Arzúa). The early arrival at O Pedrouzo was nice and I met up with a group of Camino family from South Africa, the UK and New Zealand that had been crossing paths with me for a few days. Finally, later I met up with Bryan and Marta that have become part of my core Camino family.
    Tomorrow, I know will be very bittersweet. I will walk into Santiago which will mark the end of my Camino de Santiago Francés.
    I will finally be able to fly home and rejoin my wife and family that I have been missing for weeks. I will also be leaving behind such wonderful friends that have become my Camino family through our shared joys and challenges. Still the memories will remain.
    Until then, tomorrow to Santiago!
    Lue lisää