Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Subterranean adventures and Via Dolorosa

    May 11, 2018 in Palestine ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    I feel like I have spent a good chunk of this morning underground! Ibrahim showed up at 8.30 and after giving us a bit of an introduction to the day, led us to the city of David archaeological park, where we had the opportunity to walk under the city. There was a short, dry option or a longer (530 meters) wet one. I opted for the latter which involved wading or walking through winding underground channels, mostly only 20cm deep, but occasionally mid--thigh, very narrow and often low enough that even a shortie like me needed to stoop most of the way. We were tracing our way through the tunnel built by Hezekiah in the 8th century BC, and I think he would be gratified to know it is still working.

    After reuniting with those who had chosen the dry feet option, we were taken on another underground tour and I am still a little hazy on what it was but I think I recall Ibrahim mentioning something about a sewerage system.

    We finished the morning tracing the stations of the Via Dolorosa but it was a bit crazy keeping up with Ibrahim through the crowd a and I think I might do that again by myself early tomorrow morning when it is quieter. He sets quite a pace and it is a hot day so we were all wilting a bit by 1pm and I am enjoying a bit of space and cool before we reconvene for the afternoon.
    Read more