Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Day 7 Holbrook, AZ - Broken Arrow Bible

    June 2, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 81 °F

    Day 7 KOA Holbrook, AZ - Broken Arrow Bible Ranch (near the Petrified Forest)
    Miles rides - 103 (Caroline did her first 100)
    Ants killed in the Van - 34

    Our accommodations at the KOA were surprisingly nice. I had always thought KOA were for just tents and stuff. I tried to get on the internet but was unsuccessful. While the team went to the Chuckwagon for breakfast, I stayed by the Van to watch the gear and the bicycles. We never go anywhere unless the bicycles are locked in a room, or someone is watching them on the back of the Van. Neil did another video conversation with a couple that had an RV just begin the girls' cabin. And then he had another conversation with a couple at the Pancake breakfast event.

    Glenn filled up with gasoline as we pulled out of town. We needed to make sure we had a full take of gas because of the roads we were traveling. The cyclists were doing great. I think they stopped two times before we had lunch. We found the only restaurant opened in town. The Village Cafe. We tried to call ahead but no answer. Once we pulled over, I went into this small cafe and looked for a table. None. There was this one lady and her two daughters that offered their table to us. At this point, Neil was already engaging in a conversation, so Neil, the guy and the camera crew came inside and out fo the heat. Man was it hot. I told Uma our sandwich order that Glenn and I share, then we drove back 3 blocks to get some ice and bottles of water for the cooler. Once we returned, Glenn and I sat down to eat lunch. This was a long break. It is just hard. to have. a quick "pit-stop" when you are going to have conversations with people.

    While Glenn was moving stuff around in the Van, I stood outside and were talking with the lady and her 2 daughters that gave up her table for us. She was so excited when I told her what the #conversationsCoasttoCoast was all about. She voiced that she started going to a local Community church and was really involved in it. She said she use to go to the Catholic Church but has really felt lead to go to this non-denomination church. She called up her pastor, Tim, came to the Village Cafe to meet Neil for a few minutes. He even prayed for Neil. It was exciting to encourage Monica to share her faith.

    As we were leaving, and the camera crew were setting up a shot for Neil with the drone however he started having a conversation with an itinerate. Glenn was busy rearranging the back seats and securing the cold water bottles and all. I did not hear this conversation, but this is what I saw. Jeff, who is on the team, ask if he could use my to-go box and then he poor some water in the square container and walked up the itinerate man and his dog. I asked him what he was going to do with that water, and he exclaimed it was for the thirsty dog.

    The scenery was just beautiful. Tall brown mountains that jutted up over the landscape. At one point, I exclaimed "Wow" as we turned the corner, then following right behind, Wes exclaimed "Wow" through the walkie-talkies!

    We drove through the Indian town of Zuni and then on to Broken Arrow Bible Ranch. I called Alfie P. who recommended this location for our team to stay, and he was so excited to hear that these accommodations worked out. Also the camp did not charge us anything at all to stay and eat the dinner meal.

    Our accommodations were very rustic to say the least. We each had our own cabin that had 8 other bunkbeds. And the shower and toilets were just around a few trees and down a gravel pathway. As Glenn was unpacking, we couldn't locate the Tomba's sleeping bags. We gave them our sleeping bags and we used the sheet and Bolivian blanket that we had stored under neath the seat - for just like a need like this. I was very happy to sleep under the wam blanket. We arrived well after the campers had their meals, however, we saw around the table and talked with Lois and her daughter and their experiences living in NM. This was not recorded or film, however it was a conversation where we learned more. They sang a Christian song in their native Indian language.

    Everyone settled in and so did we. I was so tired, that I just plopped myself down on the bed, and I had Glenn cover me up and I was sound asleep - even in my clothes. Fortunately I did not wake up at all during the night. Someone from the team said they didn't mind waking up, cause they could see the beautiful night sky and stars. That's a good way to look at it.

    Pictures are not in order...but were for Day 7
    Read more