Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Day 26 Harrodsburg, KY - Natural Bridge

    June 21, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 59 °F

    Day 26 Harrodsburg, KY - Natural Bridge Resort State Park, KY
    Miles - approx 100
    People that waved to us - 245

    Good morning. I woke up this morning and noticed that Sarah was not in her bed in the room. The sheets, covers, and pillows were not there. I found out later she’s didn't even try to go to sleep because I was snoring so loud by the time she was ready to go to bed, what's the use? She just took the bedding and went to the adjacent room and slept on the wooden floor. I got some laughs when Vela mentioned she could hear my snoring through from the second story. I had some ear plugs I gave Sarah. I did my part.

    I got up at 5 o’clock to take a shower and get ready for the day. I loaded the bicycles from the "living room" of the house and brought them out to the front parking lot area in plenty of time after I had some quiet time and reading. Glenn drove up in the "Chuckwagon" and everyone pitched in to load the bicycles and suitcases and we were heading out by 6:45 and headed back into town to McDonald’s for breakfast. Glenn and I shared a pancake breakfast plus I had a Frappuccino all the while Glenn is re-adjusting the bins. He even tried to get ice from McDonald's and they didn't sell him any. We stopped at a convenience store to buy some ice in town before heading out for the day.

    The weather was just beautiful today clear blue sky. Perfect to take photos. Its the day with white puffy clouds as we drove through the countryside. We rode through large farmlands dotted with old wooden barns. On most of the homes and barns, there would be the traditional "Pennsylvanian and/or Amish" looking quilt symbol on the side of the barn. I also noticed that some homes had the Star of David hanging on one small end of the house or barn. I need to look up the reference for this tradition.

    I was counting how many people would wave to us in the van. My count was over 250 and then Wes radioed back to me and said I should be counting how many people we saw mowing their yard either by a push mower or riding lawn mower. Glenn's reply that we would do that tomorrow since it would be a Saturday (however Saturday was raining and hardly anyone was outside).

    We did stop to talk to one man that was repairing his fence by the side of the road. He mentioned that a car lost control several days ago and drove into his wire fence. He immediately told us about a "Biker's Stop" just up the hill. Sure enough along the side of the road in a vacant acre, was a covered shed and porta potty. There was free water, fresh fruit, and cookies (some were homemade) and bike supplies. This was on the Bike 76 route.

    We ate lunch at a restaurant called Cook-Out in Richmond. It is a local chain in the Kentucky area famous for hamburgers and chicken. Glenn and I shared a chicken sandwich, onion rings, and a peach milkshake.

    Richmond, Kentucky which is the home for eastern Kentucky State University. Neil was having a conversation here on campus and had gone ahead of us. Vela decided she needed to walk around a bit, so I looked up on the "letterboxing" web site to see if there was a letterbox near by. Sure enough, one at a cemetery a few blocks away. Very clever clues.

    Once Neil finished his interview, filming, and conversation, we were on the road again. We used our cell phone to reconnect back up with Vela on the other side of this beautiful campus. Neil had another interview as we were leaving Richmond.

    The area was beautiful. Forest and green! Steep rolling hills. I don't know how the bikers do it. Again I'm amazed how they keep going mile after mile after mile.

    As we approached the Natural Bridge Resort State Park we ate dinner at the Red River Bar-B-Que Restaurant. Very good food. Immediately when we arrive at a dinner location, we try to have the 3 cyclists order and get their food first, since it is important and part of recovery to eat within the first 45 minutes of getting off your bike. Glenn and I were tieing stuff down and had to order last. We shared a dinner plate.

    Neil was having a conversation with 3 or 4 motorcyclists. Harley Davidson folks. And as he was talking, I was outside of this old restaurant just sitting and enjoying the weather and engaging with a few folks. And with all the camera crew and sound equipment out, you get a lot of questions asked. One family started asking questions and I was explaining what we were doing. They got really excited about the whole concept. Then Glenn started to talk with the adult son and found out that he graduated from Ben Lippen High School. Same school Glenn graduated from. Small world, Big Family. Unbelievable. Divine appointment. Small school but different location. Glenn attended the boarding school back in the '70s when it was located in Ashville, NC, now the school is located in Columbia, South Carolina. This particular family had come to Kentucky to attend Jack Layman's grandson's wedding. Jack with Glenn's headmaster back in the day.

    We are staying at the National Bridge Resort State Park. Glenn and I stayed here back in 2002 when we were following Ellen and the Women's Concert Choir and I was hosting the Alumni dinners prior to the concerts. I did not walk the trail to view the bridge.

    Jonathan Edwards met us here as he drove down from Indiana for a few days to see how the #ConversationsCoasttoCoast really works.

    A funny story on Vela. I got a knock on my door. Vela. She comes busting in and says "now this is a cold room! Our room is so hot!" She explained that she even called the front desk to complain about the temperature in the room and the guy on the other end said: "Lady, just calm down!" Vela has a great way of expressing herself. I've probably mentioned this in a previous post, Vela has the same EXACT laugh as our good friend Kathy. Now that's a compliment. And every time I smile when I hear her laugh as it reminds me of Kathy.

    There were a few wrong turns for the day. And even Wes slipped and skinned up his elbow. We were being told to "hold back" for the shooting, so we didn't see the mishap. Wes is ok. There were times when the cyclists were riding on gravel - not the idea road condition. Again the scenery was beautiful. Lots of trees. Green.

    Good night.

    Again, several more conversations. And several more ways to see how God puts us at the right spot at the right time.

    Normally Glenn proof-reads my blogs, but with our crazy schedule, he does not have time. So please enjoy reading, but don't look for those grammatical errors.
    Read more