Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 95

    Doğubayazit and the boarder to Iran

    November 3, 2019 in Turkey ⋅ ☀️ 7 °C

    My last stop before the Iranian boarder was Doğubayazit. This city is not only very practical for changing the last Liras into Dollar, the Turkish and Kurdish town is also famous for its stunningly beautiful surroundings. It's close to some of Turkey's highest peaks including the Ararat 5137m. And over the city towers the unique Ishak Pasa Sarayi palace.
    Regarding the boardercrossing I was a bit nervous, due to 2 Jordan stamps in my passport showing clearly that I was in Israel not long ago. Ater several 'good luck' wishes from Turkish officers, I was welcomed from a friendly boarder officer on the Iranian side. After explaining my purpose of travel she smiled and showed me the current unofficial exchange rate from Euro to Rial 1:125000 ... One hour later I became Multimillionaire and I was ready to get to know a country I was curious about since long ago.
    Read more