Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 117

    Persian gulf islands & goodbye Iran

    November 25, 2019 in Iran ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    My last days in wonderful Iran were spent at the coast of the Persian gulf. I took my time to visit the laid-back islands of Qeshm, Hengam and Hormuz. This region is miles away from the rest of the country. In a homestay I got in contact with the still existing traditional gulf culture which in all other countries around the gulf has disappeard. Most of the people have Arabic origins (so called Bandaris). Some women still choose to wear colourful masks to cover their face. Fishing is the Nr.1 activity, so did I. The landscapes are incredible. Easily you can fill many days just hiking or cycling around in the moon-like surrounding.

    One more (last) time I felt the hospitality of the Iranians. Something that I will never forget in my life. It hurts to know that a huge part of the world opposes such a welcoming culture and politicians play with the fears of the people.
    I highly recommend to visit Iran, the people deserve it!
    Read more