Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 207

    Mindfulness in Bali

    February 23, 2020 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    Bali is the place where superficiality and spirituality meet. To me, Bali meant the stop between the east before going back to the west, a place to allow myself to mentally reflect all the amazing experiences lived during the last months and to physically recover from my illness. It was time to stop travelling in the outer world to start go within.

    I spent one week in a very nice hostel in Canggu feeling very weak from the already suspected parasite that had been living inside my stomach for a month. Early meditation and yoga helped me being patience and focus on recovering.

    It was really cool to meet Elo after haven't seen each other for 6 years, an old colleague from aviation. She helped me recover giving me rice and sharing some laughs with her lovely children.

    I visited the island during Galungan, a beautiful Hindu celebration during 35 days that marks the time when ancestral spirits visit the island. It's very nice to see that families have different specific places to put their offerings and they will continue doing so for generations.

    After Canggu, a short stop in Ubud followed and visiting the holy temple Tirta Empul was kind of magical, because it is said that its water has a healing power. And it worked! I believe that was the power of my mind though ;) After Ubud I felt good for 4 days and I took the chance to do a diving course in Amed with Jaume, and I met Ivàn. We shared our travel adventures and sang karaoke. It was so much fun to speak Catalan again after so many months!

    I spent my last days chilling at the beach with myself, enjoying my own company, talking to local people and meeting some awesome French people, to remind me that there are indeed really cool French people hahaha

    During all this time on my own in Bali, I couldn't stop but being grateful to have lived this 7-month-adventure and thanking the universe for making my dream come true. But the adventure isn't over, it has just begun :)
    Read more