Satellit
Visa på kartan
  • Dag 14

    Language Exams at the Terminal Cafe

    21 april 2018, Japan ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    It's kinda like a Melbourne cafe in Kyoto. But I'm probably interested in the latte. I didn't have poached eggs but I poached the pics.

    www.terminal-cafe-by-room-lab.com

    Observations:

    It's thankfully a non smoking cafe which is actually something to be aware of still in Japan. Although they are increasingly hiding smokers away in smoking rooms, sometimes the result is just puffs of smoke whenever the next victim opens the door to the gas chamber.

    Hospitality staff in Japan are crazy friendly and this place is no exception. You do have to get someone's attention to place your order here which has led to some negative reviews from gaijin who didn't know the rules and thought they were being ignored.

    I sometimes wonder if I had any Japanese language skills that maybe the wait staff would be less anxious in dealing with me. It often feels like Japanese people are often both keen to help yet really afraid of not having sufficient English skills to satisfy foreigners.

    It's like every exchange is an English speaking exam and they really want to do well but are really nervous of the process.

    In which case I'm a terrible examiner since I either point at pictures, or speak too fast and use complicated words.

    Kaiju Collected:

    A latte and it was glorious.
    Läs mer