Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6–7

    FATIMA

    April 6 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 63 °F

    As we continued on our journey, we opted to tread the road less traveled, forging our own "way". So far, this has rewarded us with some unforgettable experiences, and our ride from charming Óbidos to the holy city of Fatima was undoubtedly one of the highlights. I can only speak for myself, but while the rugged Atlantic coast is undeniably breathtaking and fun watching surfers dotting the shoreline in every town, my soul finds solace in the quiet simplicity of the bucolic countryside. Cycling immersed us in the natural beauty of each region, tantalizing our senses as we pedaled through the crisp breeze that carried scents of minty eucalyptus forests, tangy citrus trees, earthy olive orchards, and sweet spring flowers. It allows for a snapshot in time of farm animals grazing in the lush verdant valleys, vibrant purple wisteria in full bloom adorning a stone fence, or a worn stray cat lying on the warm cobblestone path without a care in the world. I was grateful to the Portuguese dog owners in just about every other residence we passed for containing their overly protective furry family members, making for a much safer journey. Those we did see wandering were estranged and seemingly on their own Camino. Much to John's chagrin, I picked up some animal treats. I reminded him of one of my life mottos, "I stop for animals," and the Camino is no different 😊
    As we continue on our way, I am filled with serenity and gratitude for the opportunity to experience God's hand in it all.
    Read more