Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Our Final Hours ...

    October 22, 2019 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 13 °C

    We awoke to the sound of rain falling gently  ... and ... had a nice, lazy start to the day.

    We sipped coffee and chatted while Rod prepared us a nice breakfast. After some spirited discussion, Barb arrived home from work, we had a nice lunch and were off to the airport ... with a quick stop at REI store to see about socks! 😉

    Barb had indicated she had purchased some great socks there for hiking ... and well ... since I had just got some new hiking shoes ... I clearly needed appropriate socks. 😁

    While we were there we got looking at day packs for hiking.  They had a nice Osprey Women's 24 liter bag that seemed perfect for our Camino. It was $130.00 US currency. We checked the price on Amazon.ca to see if it would be cheaper to buy it in Canada.  We were absolutely aghast to discover it was $369.00 CAD!! 

    So ... we thought it wise to take it. Since we had no room to pack it, I thought I'd just wear it. Thank goodness I did!  Turns out that I needed the men's version to accommodate my football shoulders! Gah. We'll need to do some fiddling to get the fit just right ... but ... I am excited because now I have all I need to start training for our walk.  I'll be able to break in my shoes and get accustomed to wearing a back pack!

    Our flight was scheduled to leave on time ... which was good because our layover I'm Minneapolis/StPaul was only 1 hour and 3 minutes. Our second flight was in a new Delta plane .... very roomy!! We even had TVs in the seat backs with not just movies ... but ... games, music, TV series and even live TV!  It was great because I caught the last half hour of The Voice tonight! It was one of the nicest flights we've had in terms of comfort ... and ... we even landed 20 minutes early!!

    And ... in our final hours we enjoyed three seamless flights, three super smooth landings and the luggage arrived when we did! All in all, ait would have been a perfect way to end a lovely vacation ... except on the car ride home ... we nearly ran into two deer that were crossing 43rd street in the dark!!! Yikes!! Thanks to my husbands keen eye he noticed the first one and slammed on the brakes ... only to have another one trot out in front of us!! Gah!! 😖

    On a more positive note ... the adrenaline in our system will keep us wide awake for the drive home! 🤪
    Read more