Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 142

    Driving through Utah, Hwy 191

    October 14, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 63 °F

    Today was really just a drive day. But I have to say that we took Hwy 40/Hwy 191 west from Vernal and we're really glad we did. It is noted as a scenic byway and I thought it was a beautiful drive. Oddly the drive did include a number of trucks, stop maybe it's odd a shortcut for some destinations. Two lane hwy with pretty good size shoulders. It followed those little creek, so lots of green and yellow cottonwoods ands shrubs. It went up to just over 9,000 ft so we also got back into pines and aspen. Just lots of great color. The best views were as I drove so I couldn't take them pictures I would have liked to have. Once we got the top of the pass we switched seats and Tom handled the drive down. He is better with downshifting and brakes then I am, especially towing the jeep. I would be the person who just rides the brake all the way down! As much as I enjoy these drives they do eat up your drive time. We only got as far as Delta, (where hwy 6 joins hwy 50!) which is about 100 miles east of Great Basin. Plan is to actually drive "into" this park instead of "by" it!
    Currently parked at the tractor supply in Delta. Walked to a little Mexican food restaurant instead of cooking. Pretty warm when we got here...I just can't believe it is the middle of October?? Where is the fall?
    Read more