Satellite
Show on map
  • Be Sure to Turn Around!

    September 8, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 77 °F

    Starting early in the morning in the silence of darkness. Torch on. It’s not long before I hear the clicking of trekking poles and the hum of quiet voices. This is a typical morning on the Camino.

    This morning was on the cold side. I am always cold, but even the pilgrims around me had long sleeves and jackets. After the hot sun, day after day, cool morning is a welcomed change!

    No food or coffee at the Albergue, so we hike for over an hour to the next town, hoping a bar is open for coffee and breakfast! We were in luck!

    At the bar stop, we see many of the pilgrims we have been traveling with from town to town. Some we have not seen in days, some we saw last night in the plaza.

    As we approach the towns, the church steeple is always visible...because it is high on a hill...a hill we will climb!

    Along the Frances Way, there is an opportunity to discover some of the most beautiful Cathedrals in Spain. Most have Mass in the evening for all pilgrims.

    The Camino heads southwest. I share this because you will miss God’s magnificent handiwork as the sunrises if you don't turn around!

    I have no idea where I'm headed tomorrow, but I can't wait!
    Read more