Satellite
Show on map
  • Sunday and Monday Long Walking Days

    September 18, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 57 °F

    In the last few days, we have walked about 30 km each day. That is a lot of walking! But the flat terrain of the Meseta makes this doable.

    Finding a place to sleep at the end of a long day has been more of a challenge. We have been successful in booking an Albergue two days ahead. But we have noticed since we left Burgos there are many more pilgrims on the trail. Since COVID, quite a few Hostels and Albergues have closed. So the supply of beds isn’t what it used to be. In our planning, we try to decide if we will shoot for our “planned destination” or stop and stay in a town before or after our planned stop.

    We get up before the sun and take in beautiful sunrises. Morning on the Camino is my favorite time of the day.

    As I have mentioned before, once we reach the town we are staying in, and receive our bed assignment, we shower and wash our clothes. Then it is cocktail time, dinner and bed. I thought you might like to see the luxurious washing facilities we have on the Camino! Trust me, we are happy to have the wash basin and clothesline! It is a plus if they provide clothes pins otherwise I use the large diaper pins I brought! These are essential if it is windy!

    Thank you for the prayers! I am still sore from the fall — but improving every day. I am praying for all of you! ✝️💜
    Read more