Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    An Aruban Breakfast

    April 25, 2023 in Aruba ⋅ ⛅ 81 °F

    We have a very nice kitchen in our little bungalow (I use the term loosely ☺️). Joe and I did a little grocery shopping yesterday, to buy coffee, fruit, wine, more wine, and snick-snacks.

    When I woke up I made a pot of coffee, washed the blueberries, and took my coffee out to the balcony. The stillness of the early morning--no matter where I am is my favorite time of the day.

    When we go out of the country, we like to try the local cuisine favorites. So this morning I tried an Aruban breakfast.

    Aruban breakfast has eggs, pastechi.

    Pastechi is a traditional Aruban breakfast that can also be served as a snack. It is a deep-fried, crescent-shaped dough filled with a variety of ingredients such as chicken, beef, tuna, vegetables, or cheese. My pastechi was filled with cheese.

    We found pastechis throughout the island. I really liked this pastry. It is like a fried pierogi I always pierogi I loved eating it when I lived in Pittsburgh.

    The second Aruban item for breakfast is the arepas. Arepas are mostly known as corn cakes made out of corn dough made into a flat circular shape, similar to a crab cake. These I didn't care for as much. Too bland!

    We are off to the beach this afternoon and plan to jet ski.
    Read more