Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 91–92

    Hot Springs, Climbs and a Lake

    December 17, 2023 in Argentina ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    The last chapter of the journey beginns.
    This time going solo again. The next days I will be crossing the Andes one last time (by bike), going from Mendoza to Santiago where I will be storing my bike.

    I left Mendoza around 10am without an exact goal for the day. All I knew was that there were the thermal baths of Cacheuta and the Lake of Poterillos on the way, which might both be worth stopping at.

    Leaving Mendoza I was positively surprised by the cycle path network. I was able to follow a cycle way the whole way out of the city and half way to the mountains and thermal baths. There were even cycle paths made specifically to avoid having to go through dark and narrow tunnels in the mountains. Amazing! Every South American city should have this.

    Around midday I got to the Cacheuta springs and was happy to find out they had lockers to store my stuff and a safe enough looking spot inside the gates to lock up my bike. Throwing myself into a pool with refreshingly cool water was just what I needed now, after 2 hours of climbing at 30°C.

    That said, it was not surprising that the majority of the afternoon was then spent lounging in different warm and cool pools amidst the mountains and enjoying the view! If only it had been less crowded it would have been the perfect spot to relax. But absolutely worth it nonetheless!

    Around 4pm I set off, continuing my climb up into the Andes. Shortly after leaving the baths a set of steepish serpentines started, which looking back from above the climb made a very nice infinity sign 🤓
    At the end of the climb there was a tunnel...I did not expect much when going in, but on the way out I was greeted by a postcard-like scenery of an azure lake and snow capped mountains 🏞 wow!

    The road continued along the side of the lake and I thought about camping on its shore, but it was still much to early and Argentinians were just arriving at the lake for some sunday evening fiestas and BBQ. So I carried on further into the mountains and in the general direction of Uspallata, the next little town, all the time keeping an eye open for a good spot to camp.

    Being carried uphill by a nice tailwind - for once the wind gods are on my side! - I could thoroughly enjoy the views of the mountains around me, especially during golden hour 😁 The Andes just keep amazing me. Not even the truck traffic on the route could spoil my mood.

    Shortly before sunset I found an abandonned train station. The roof was long gone but the walls promissed to give at lest some shelter and kept me out of view of the street. So I pitched my tent - and failed miserably, since it was still much to windy, even with some cover from the walls. But once the sun had set the wind got less strong, and with a bunch of rubble and stones I was able to build a bit of a wind shelter around my tent to keep it from blowing away during the night.

    After a dinner of leftover wraps and paté the wind was almost gone and I crawled into the tent (going only for the inner tent today) and stargaze from the comfyness of my sleepingmat 🌠

    A perfect end to a perfect day ✌️

    🚴‍♀️ Distance cycled: 90 km
    🏔 Total ascent: 1500m
    🛁 Number of pools at thermal baths: 10+
    🛶 Kajaks and boats in lake: 100+
    ☠️ Number of close encounters with trucks: 2
    🌌 Stars in the night's sky: ♾️
    Read more