Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    The end of Portugal

    October 10, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 66 °F

    Tonight I am in Caminha, Portugal. Just across the Minho River sits Spain. Tomorrow I will get up early-(ish) and find a water taxi, (really a local fisherman lookin to make a few extra bucks) to take me across. There is a ferry, but it is not currently running. Don’t know why, although I got into town early enough to witness low tide and there’s no way even that little ferry would make it across.
    As I mentioned before, it was a very short walk today, but so much to see. The juxtaposition,(Ha! I was hoping to squeeze that word in somewhere!), of modern housing and rural landscape was just really interesting. It was dreary and drizzly for most of the walk and that was reflected in my mood. I saw very few pilgrims on the way- a young German girl with flame red hair, Anna, who was looking for a post office to send home some items in order to lighten her pack. We talked about how little you really need. I brought 3 sets of clothes but I could easily get by with 2. My schedule has been that when I get to where I’m staying I shower, then hand wash what I was wearing and hang to dry. The bulk of what I packed really had to do with the changing weather this time of year. Layers.
    Oh- my friend Darla gave me a recommendation for some more contemporary music to listen to. First Aid kit- sisters from Sweden. I had never heard of them but listened on my walk today and they are wonderful! Beautiful harmonies! Thanks, Darla!
    So I have really loved my time in Portugal. But I have really had a hard time learning any Portuguese. When I first decided to come on this trip I was using Duo Lingo to polish up my Spanish. Then I switched up to Portuguese. Then I found out that Duo Lingo teaches Brazilian Portuguese which is quite different in pronunciation from European Portuguese. Claudia- (my food tour guide in Porto) said that the difference is that the Brazilians move their mouth when they speak while the Portuguese make the sounds farther back in the throat and don’t really move their mouths. Whatever. I didn’t learn either one. My one word of Portuguese that I have learned is Obrigado. Thank you.
    Obrigado, Portugal!
    Read more