Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    And later that night…

    February 9, 2023 in Tanzania

    I am adding to my birthday footprint because this was so special I wanted to make sure I remembered it.
    I had just gone to bed (@ 8:00 because I am such a party girl), when there was a knock on my door. It was Tina from the front desk to tell me that my tour guide was here and needed to see me and was waiting in the garden. Mildly annoyed, I got up and went out in my jammies to see what was up. As I rounded a corner I saw what must have been the entire hotel staff assembled. As soon as they saw me they started singing and clapping, in what would become a very familiar call and response style. On a small garden table sat a big chocolate cake with candles and flowers in vases all around. Such a joyful experience. Cynthia had arranged for the cake, but the staff really did it up in a big way. I ran to get my phone as they continued to sing and dance. I’ll upload a bit of video here. Enjoy!Read more