Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    The Adventure Begins - 14 October 2023

    October 14, 2023 in Germany ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    The moment of truth has finally arrived. Years of dreaming about travelling the world, months of planning and too many goodbyes over the last 1.5 months to amazing people and London, the city I called home for 9 years.

    As I sit here writing this, reality of what I am about to do - 16 months of travelling across 6 continents - really has not sunk in yet. It still feels weird and quite distant at the moment - more like a normal holiday. I am very excited of what lies ahead of me, but at the same time a bit like "what the fuck am I doing here" and "will this mess up my life?" I know it won't, but it still feels this way, at least for now.

    I am wondering at what point the mindset really shifts to "hey, I am actually doing this crazy travel thing". Let's see.

    Anyway, for now, I am off to Nairobi to start my trip with a a 4-week safari around Lake Victoria. After a brief layover in, I kid you not - London - the first 'real' stop is Nairobi, Kenya.
    Read more