Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 126–129

    Sleeping In World’s Highest Treehouse

    16. Februar in Laos ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    My last stop in Laos brought me to Huay Xay, right at the Thai border (my next destination).

    To get there from Luang Prabang, I took a slow boat, which involved cruising down the Mekong River for 9-10h for two days each. It was a great opportunity to take in the scenery, catch up on some reading, listen to podcasts and simply contemplate the travel life.

    The following day after, it was time for some action. 2.5 weeks ago I booked the Gibbon Experience, which includes two days of ziplining through the jungle, but most importantly, SLEEPING IN THE WORLD'S HIGHEST TREEHOUSE at 38m-45m above ground.

    At the start of the first day, we hiked up for an hour until we reached the first proper zipline that was 300m+ long. Zipping over the canopy brought back memories of Costa Rica, where did it the very first time. It was less adrenaline, but just good and clean fun with nice views.

    The first day included a total of 11 ziplines (1 was for training). On some ziplines, I managed to get 100% across, on others I head to pull myself for a few meters towards the end ( Ilooked a bit like a monkey while doing so).

    Then it was time. We saw the house nestled high in the trees. We could only reach it by zipline, which is a nicely added feature. So we secured the harness to the zipline one last time that day and zipped across right into the tree house - such an awesome feeling.

    Once we arrived, we quickly explored its three(!) levels, set up camp for tonight (basically a mattress with a mosquito tent) and sat down with our amazing group for some snacks, chats and gorgeous sunset views. I also took a quick shower with an open view across the forest.

    After a delicious dinner, we played a few games and talked about how great it was to be here and slee right inside the world's highest treehouse.

    On the second day, we woke up early (6.30am) and the very first thing we did, was to strap on our harness and zipline out of the treehouse to visit the local camp where the food, snacks, etc. is prepared. We also played some footvolleyball, which turmed out better than we would’ve thought. Afterwards - and before breakfast - we had another five ziplines to go.

    Once back in the treehouse, we were all hungry and were treated to an amazing breakfast. Shortly after, we packed our bags and headed back towards the final village, but not without doing another seven ziplines to get there. A swim in the river and a quick lunch later, and the Gibbon Experience came to an end.

    While it is not cheap for 2D/1N (€205), it is such a unique and fun experience and definitely worth its money. The sheer fact to zipline above the forest to actually sleep in the world‘s highest treehouse is fantastic. I was also very lucky with the group and one girl, Manon, even recognised me from my Instagram Reels ✌️

    In short, it was a really great way to finish my travels in Laos. Regarding Laos itself, due to my foot injury I could not do a few things that I wanted to and thus it feels a bit like unfinished business. I also did/could not interact with the locals that much, so I am still a bit in the dark about Laotian culture. Long story short, I am not 'done' with Laos yet and need to retum in the near future - after all, it feels like what Thailand was maybe 15 years ago.
    Weiterlesen