Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 178–185

    Siquijor - Peaceful Last Stop

    April 8 on the Philippines ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    My last island in the Philippines. Similar to Siargao, Andrea, Sarra and I all went to Siquijor, but again on three different timelines. Coordination is definitely not our strong suit.

    Anyway, as Sarra would arrived last - again - Andrea and I met up for sunset on the beach on the first day, before hiring a scooter the next day and starting to explore the island.

    We went to a waterfall, before having a little stop by the beach and then kept on driving to a secret lagoon that was actually quite hidden. There, we met a couple that was literally living off grid (no kitchen or electricity yet) and it was fascinating talking to them. Afterwards, we drove inland to an observation tower that gave us a beautiful 360 degree view over the entire island.

    Once we got down, we went for a quick five minute walk and discovered an amazing tree. To be honest, we were looking for a solid few minutes where the original stamp was, but could not figure it out. I am normally not that much into trees, but that one was absolutely fascinating. We finished the day with some snacks up the hill and watched the sun go down in the distance with some campfire in front of us.

    Once back at our accommodation, we met up with Sarah and joined my hostel for a family dinner, where everyone sits together, has dinner and exchanges stories/makes connections.

    Then it was already time for our last day together. And we spent it the way we wanted to spend it. Exploring the island via scooter, traveling together, making silly jokes, doing crazy things, laughing together and wondering where we will see each other next.

    More specifically, we went to the main waterfall on the island, did a little photoshoot with a Filipino photographer (or human drone), drove to a hidden restaurant, went to the next waterfall and started jumping off some stuff into the water. It was super fun. And of course, we had to end the day by watching the gorgeous sunset on the beach. One last dinner, one last drink together on the beach, one last scooter ride home and then it was already goodbye (for now).

    Since I have made a few friends (local and international) at my hostel in the meantime, the next few days I spent hanging out with them on the beach, even did a boxing class with two of them, went on beach parties, watched the sunset, tried different local foods and basically just having fun together. I could've stayed there longer, as we really had a fantastic time together. Then it was time to say goodbye - to all people, beaches and the Philippines.

    So, what do I make of the Philippines? In all honesty, it has become my favorite country! I cannot even describe how great of a time I had. Starting from the amazing atmosphere and island hopping in Port Barton, via the epic 3-Day boat expedition through Paradies, the lush green and beautiful island of Siargao and the relaxed atmosphere with lots of amazing people in Siquijor.

    Some people recently asked me if I got tired of traveling. It did not take much thinking to answer this questions with a resounding NO! At this time, I was simply having the time of my life, waking up with a smile on my face every day, enjoying the company and adventures the new day would bring and just living life full of happiness.

    Philippines 🇵🇭- Thank you very much for such a great adventure. I will surely be back!
    Read more