Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Los Arcos to Logrono - part one

    April 2 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 4 °C

    I had time to kill before dawn as I forgot to leave my head torch out and couldn't be bothered diving back in for it. Furthermore, and in a first, the albergue had sugar (!) so I made a cup of tea and read the first 10 pages of Wifedom to decide whether to bring it. I loved it instantly, and have since dipped into it at breakfast and in my post walk slump.

    Feeling particularly efficient, I sauntered out of the joint about 7.15am, a few metres behind a confident looking guy who I followed towards the road, where he promptly turned around and announced he was lost. We backtracked about 50m and got back on track, and he then insisted on walking together for the next seven kilometres.

    I've managed to avoid this so far so wasn't sure of the etiquette when he stopped to get out his tripod and DSLR every two seconds. I think his name was Jovan? Hungarian, big into birds, told me that thing yesterday wasn't an eagle, it was something else I can't remember the name of. Hump! Strike that sign then I guess.

    Approaching the first town of the day he'd jussssst started to express admiration for Trump and appreciation that Hungary rejected a bunch of refugees lately, so I resolved to do whatever he didn't at the bar. He stopped, so I kept going. He passed me when I was having breakfast in the next town a few kilometres further on. Seeya!

    I'd been harbouring a suspicion all morning that in my streamlined morning routine I'd managed to shed not only time but also the pair of underwear I was drying on the end of the bunk. I confirmed this at breakfast, but strangely couldn't bring myself to be upset about it. Yes, I've only got three (now two) and yes, they are a particular kind I won't be able to exactly replace here, and yes, I pride myself in taking care of things, but much more importantly, they're just scruds. Who cares.

    Oh I caught up with that Tescos plastic bag guy and asked if he's couriering his bag - he is. He's got FIVE pairs of boots in it, and he rotates each day. I still think a plastic bag is an insane day pack choice but you do you.
    Read more