Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Nebraska

    October 15, 2020 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 41 °F

    Waking up in Lincoln Nebraska, I am looking back at our 550 mile drive yesterday. We departed Cheyenne Wyoming and headed south to Colorado and took a left.
    We had noticed that a wild fire had started to the south the prior evening as we approached Cheyenne. It must have grown sizably over night time because the smoke now filled the sky as we approached Colorado.
    My memories of hearing about Nebraska have been about how flat it is. After about 400 miles I feel I have to disagree. I found the drive pleasant. It may be the time of year but my attention was drawn to the fields and all of the hard working farmers who were busy bringing the harvest season to an end. I love it.
    The one thing that stood out was the visual lack of wildlife sightings. In Wyoming and Colorado the day prior we must have spotted 100+ antelope and lots of deer and even one small but very fast Coyote. (Trying to avoid our truck) But since we entered Nebraska nothing not even roadkill.
    Getting up now to take on another wonderful day. Let’s see where it takes us.
    Read more